Sports Field Management Association Announces 2023 ‘Field of the Year’ Winners  | Sports Destination Management

Sports Field Management Association Announces 2023 ‘Field of the Year’ Winners 

Mar 11, 2024

Sports Field Management Association (SFMA) – the non-profit, professional association for the nearly 3,000 men and women who manage sports fields worldwide –  announces its 2023 “Field of the Year” winners, an award spotlighting the individuals and programs who excelled this year in providing quality, safe playing surfaces.Every year, SFMA presents the industry’s highest honor to members who manage baseball, football, soccer, softball, and other sporting playing surfaces at the professional, collegiate, school (K-12), and parks and recreation levels. The 2023 winners are featured below:Professional

  • Baseball – West Michigan Whitecaps, LMCU Ballpark (Comstock Park, MI): Mitch Hooten

  • Soccer – Mecklenburg County Parks and Rec, Sportsplex Stadium Field (Matthews, NC): Jonathan Waszak

College and University

  • Baseball – University of New Orleans, Maestri Field (New Orleans, LA): Scott Blanchette

  • Football – Duke University, Brooks Field at Wallace Wade Stadium (Durham, NC): Ian Christie, CSFM

  • Soccer – University of South Carolina Upstate, County University Soccer Stadium (Spartanburg, SC): Bruce Suddeth, CSFM

  • Softball – University of Illinois, Eichelberger Field (Champaign, IL): Daniel Thomas, CSFM

Schools and Parks

  • Baseball – Providence Catholic High School, Tom Dedin Field (New Lenox, IL): Scott Heren

  • Football – Brentsville Turfgrass Management Program, Donald Lambert Field, (Nokesville, VA): Drew Miller

  • Soccer – Pace Academy, Walsh Field (Mableton, GA): Daniel Prince

  • Softball – Spartanburg High School, Lady Vikings Softball Field (Spartanburg, SC): Matthew Arms, CSFM

  • Sporting Grounds – Brownsburg Community Schools, Brownsburg Championship Cross Country Course (Brownsburg, IN): Matt Dudley

“We are excited to unveil the remarkable recipients of the 2023 Field of the Year awards and extend our sincere gratitude for their outstanding achievements in field management,” says Laura Simmons, SFMA CEO. “Whether tending to the needs of professional and collegiate teams or working within local parks and recreation departments, the dedicated men and women who diligently maintain sports fields nationwide are integral to community enrichment, ensuring safety and playability for all athletes.” 

The SFMA Awards Committee, led by co-chairs Jeremy Driscoll, CSFM and Jason DeMink, CSFM reviewed each submittal and independently rated applicants on field quality as impacted by staffing, budget, use, monthly maintenance, and a visual story that documents challenges and successes.

Winners receive complimentary registration to the 2024 SFMA Conference & Exhibition (January 22-25) in Daytona Beach, FL, accommodations for three nights, signature clothing and a trophy presented during the annual awards banquet. Also, each recipient will be highlighted in an upcoming issue of SportsField Management Magazine, SFMA’s official monthly publication.

Since its inception in 1981, SFMA has been dedicated to imparting practical knowledge and education of sports field management to its members. With a current membership exceeding 2,500, spread across 30 local chapters, these professionals take charge of maintaining fields in diverse settings including parks and recreation facilities, schools, universities, colleges, and professional sports stadiums. | Facebook | Instagram | LinkedIn | Twitter | YouTube

More information: 800.323.3875.

(Click to Expand)