Punta Cana in Dominican Republic to Host 2018 FIVB World Congress | Sports Destination Management

Punta Cana in Dominican Republic to Host 2018 FIVB World Congress

Oct 27, 2016

Punta Canta in the Dominican Republic was proposed as the venue for the 2018 International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) World Congress at the conclusion of this year’s edition in Buenos Aires, according to an article in Inside The Games.

The FIVB World Congress, the organization’s supreme governing body, is held every two years.

The 2018 edition, scheduled to take place from October 27 to 28, will be the first to be held in the Dominican Republic.

Re-elected FIVB President Ary Graça closed the 2016 Congress in Argentina’s capital, where two days of presentations, debate and discussions took place to review progress under his vision. 

Delegates from 170 federations attended the second day of the Congress to hear from the FIVB commissions.

Presentations from the FIVB’s five confederations - representing Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, Central America and Caribbean and South America - were also given to update delegates on continental developments and future plans.

"As I have said many times, we are in a golden era for volleyball," said Graça.

"London 2012 and Rio 2016 were huge.

"But they are history already.

"Let’s now build the future: the Beach Volleyball World Championships in Austria in 2017, the Volleyball World Championships in 2018 in Italy and Bulgaria for the men, and in Japan for the women."

The Brazilian added: "We will write history again in these three World Championships. And then we will have what I expect will be the most innovative and technological Olympic Games ever, in Tokyo 2020. I would like to thank everybody who made a contribution to this Congress."

Graça, who was first elected to his post in 2012 in Anaheim, stood unopposed for the position on Wednesday (October 5) and is now expected to serve until 2024.

A constitutional change at the 2014 FIVB Congress introduced an eight-year first term and a four-year second term for the President, a change on the previous system of unlimited four-year terms.

As Graça was initially elected for just four years, he has been permitted to stand for 12 years the other way around, with the eight-year term coming second.

(Click to Expand)