CONCACAF Announces Venues for Gold Cup in 2017 | Sports Destination Management

CONCACAF Announces Venues for Gold Cup in 2017

Jan 16, 2017

Concacaf announced the 14 venues in 13 metropolitan areas at which the 2017 Gold Cup will be played July 7-26. The USA will open in Nashville, Tampa and Cleveland. Nashville and Tampa are among four markets MLS is looking at to expand. Only three stadiums are MLS venues. The other are all large football stadiums.

Gold Cup seeded teams:
Group A: To be determined
Group B: United States
Group C: Mexico

Mexico will open in San Diego, Denver and San Antonio. The third group seed -- yet to be determined -- will play in the three MLS stadiums: Red Bull Arena, BBVA Compass Stadium and Toyota Stadium.

Four stadiums will be used for the first time: Alamodome in San Antonio; FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland; Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif.; and Nissan Stadium in Nashville. Levi’s Stadium is one of four venues that were used for the 2016 Copa Centenario.

Seven of the 12 national teams scheduled to participate have qualified: USA, Canada and Mexico from North America, Curacao, French Guiana, Jamaica and Martinique from the Caribbean.

The top four teams in January’s UNCAF Central American Cup will qualify. The final team will be the winner of a Caribbean-Central America playoff. The Caribbean team will be the winner of a playoff among Haiti, Suriname and Trinidad & Tobago. The fifth-place team in the UNCAF tournament in Panama will represent Central America.

The Central American Cup was recently reduced from seven teams to six following the suspension of Guatemala from all international activity.

Gold Cup group stage venues & dates:
July 7, Group A: NY/NJ, Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)
July 8, Group B: Nashville, Nissan Stadium (Nashville, TN)
July 9, Group C: San Diego, Qualcomm Stadium (San Diego, CA)
July 11, Group A: Houston, BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX)
July 12, Group B: Tampa Bay, Raymond James Stadium (Tampa, FL)
July 13, Group C: Denver, Sports Authority Field (Denver, CO)
July 14, Group A: Dallas, Toyota Stadium (Frisco, TX)
July 15, Group B: Cleveland, FirstEnergy Stadium (Cleveland, OH)
July 16, Group C: San Antonio, Alamodome (San Antonio, TX)
Gold Cup knockout round venues:
Bay Area, Levi’s Stadium (Santa Clara, CA)
Dallas, AT&T Stadium (Arlington, TX)
Los Angeles, Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)
Philadelphia, Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia, PA)
Phoenix, University of Phoenix Stadium (Glendale, AZ)

(Click to Expand)