National Collegiate Hockey Conference to Make 'Hat Trick' of Announcements | Sports Destination Management

National Collegiate Hockey Conference to Make 'Hat Trick' of Announcements

Mar 06, 2013
NCHC to announce tournament schedule, new logo, launch of website

The National Collegiate Hockey Conference is aggressively taking several major steps as its inaugural season grows ever closer.

As the State of Hockey gets set to crown Minnesota’s champions in boys’ high school hockey, the NCHC and its member schools will be in Minneapolis on March 7 for a Hat Trick of announcements:

  • Unveil the Conference logo, which will act as the NCHC’s visual stamp for years to come.

  • Reveal details about its first-ever NCHC post-season tournament, which will be played at Target Center in downtown Minneapolis.

  • Introduce the launch of the new Conference website.

Meanwhile, in neighboring St. Paul, the NCHC will have a booth at the Let’s Play Hockey Expo in downtown St. Paul, just steps away from where the Class AA and A boys’ tournaments are unfolding. This presence will give thousands of hockey fans the opportunity to get to know the NCHC and understand why the NCHC will arguably be the strongest college hockey conference in America.


What: NCHC & Target Center newsmakers

When: Thursday, March 7, 9 a.m. CST.

Where: Council Chambers – Minneapolis City Hall

Who: NCHC Commissioner Jim Scherr, Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak, St. Cloud State University President Earl Potter, University of North Dakota Director of Intercollegiate Athletics and NCHC Chairman of the Board – Brian Faison, Target Center Vice President/General Manager Steve Mattson, as well as other key conference personnel and City of Minneapolis officials.

About the National Collegiate Hockey Conference:
The National Collegiate Hockey Conference is the eight-school, Division I men’s hockey conference that will start play in the 2013-14 season. The NCHC’s member institutions are: Colorado College, University of Denver, Miami University, University of Minnesota Duluth, University of Nebraska at Omaha, University of North Dakota, St. Cloud State University and Western Michigan University. Since 2000, National Collegiate Hockey Conference’s members have produced four NCAA Champions, 14 NCAA Frozen Four appearances, 12 conference regular-season championships and 12 conference tournament championships. All eight members have been participants in the NCAA Ice Hockey Championship tournament at least once since 2010, including five teams in 2012.

About Target Center:
Located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ vibrant Warehouse District and adjacent to Target Field, Target Center opened its doors in 1990 and is the home of the NBA’s Minnesota Timberwolves and the WNBA’s Minnesota Lynx. The arena, owned by the City of Minneapolis and operated by AEG, attracts more than 1 million visitors a year thanks to its professional basketball teams, sporting events such as college and high school hockey and high school basketball and entertainment events including major concerts, family shows and other attractions.

(Click to Expand)