Dallas to Host Men's FIVB World League in July | Sports Destination Management

Dallas to Host Men's FIVB World League in July

Feb 01, 2016

Dallas will host the U.S. Men’s National Team when they play in the 2016 FIVB World League on July 1-3 in Dallas. Tickets are on sale now.

The Dallas Sports Commission and the Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center Dallas will host the 2015 FIVB World Cup champion United States, defending Olympic champion Russia, Bulgaria and Australia in World League matches.

The 2016 World League matches will be played in conjunction with the USA Volleyball Boys’ Junior National Championships, which will also be held at the Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center.

The FIVB World League is an elite annual men’s volleyball competition in which the best teams in the world compete in pool play matches trying to qualify for the Final Round (July 13-17 in Poland) and a first-place prize of $1 million.

The U.S. Men qualified for the 2016 Olympic Games by winning the 2015 World Cup. The matches in Dallas will be their last competition in the United States before they leave for Rio de Janeiro.

“Playing in front of the great fans in Dallas, and especially teams from the Boys’ Junior Nationals, will be a special way for us to end our domestic season,” U.S. Head Coach John Speraw said. “Our players don’t get to compete in front of U.S. fans that often.”

All-session tickets will be available for $75 and $45. The reserved daily ticket price is $30 and the general admission daily ticket price is $18.

Groups of 20 or more can purchase daily general admission tickets for $12. Go to worldleague.dallassports.org to purchase tickets.

In 2016, World League will have a shortened format. Group 1 consists of the top 12 teams from the 2015 World League. Every team will play every other team once over the course of three weekends of preliminary play. The top five teams plus the hosts will advance to the Final Round.

The U.S. Men have won World League twice (2008 and 2014). They took silver in 2012 and have finished third three times (1992, 2007 and 2015).

(Click to Expand)