Canton, Ohio, Awarded NCAA Football, Volleyball Championships

2 May, 2017

The NCAA has awarded three championships to the city of Canton for the 2019-2022 seasons.  Visit Canton, the Stark County Convention and Visitors’ Bureau, partnered with the Ohio Athletic Conference as the official NCAA host institution to submit 17 NCAA championship event bid proposals.  Canton and the OAC have been selected to host the following three championships:

  • 2020 NCAA Division III Football Championship

  • 2021 NCAA Division III Football Championship

  • 2022 NCAA Division III Men’s Volleyball Championship

All three championship events will take place at Johnson Controls Hall of Fame Village.  The 2020 and 2021 NCAA Division III Football Championships will be played in Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium, a world-class sports and entertainment complex that will open this summer for the 2017 Enshrinement Week Powered by Johnson Controls.  The 2022 NCAA Division III Men’s Volleyball Championship will be held in the Performance Center, to be constructed on the campus of Johnson Controls Hall of Fame Village with a 2020 date of completion.

Bidding for 84 of 90 NCAA championships began in July 2016 and more than 3,000 bid applictions were ultimately submitted.  Each sport committee, per division, selected the host sites it believed would provide the ultimate experience for the respective student-athletes, resulting in more than 500 total championship event sites being awarded.  More than 54,000 student-athletes compete in NCAA championships each year.  The six championships not included in the process due to preexisting site arrangements are: Division I baseball, Division I football, Division I softball, Division I Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field and Division III women’s ice hockey.

About NCAA: The NCAA is a diverse association of more than 1,100 member colleges and universities that prioritize academics, well-being and fairness to create greater opportunities for nearly half a million student-athletes each year.  The NCAA provides a pathway to higher education and beyond for student-athletes pursuing academic goals and competing in NCAA sports.  For more information on all of the NCAA championship sites awarded, log on to www.ncaa.com/site-selections.

About Ohio Athletic Conference: The Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC) was formed in 1902 and is the third oldest conference in college athletics. The OAC is comprised of ten liberal arts colleges located in Ohio; Baldwin Wallace University, Capital University, Heidelberg University, John Carroll University, Marietta College, University of Mount Union, Muskingum University, Ohio Northern University, Otterbein University and Wilmington College, and sponsor twenty-one sports.

About Visit Canton: Visit Canton is one of the 15 largest convention & visitors’ bureaus in Ohio. The organization’s mission is to promote travel to Stark County. Visit Canton facilitates operations that support a travel and tourism industry in Stark County that generates over $1.6 billion dollars in business sales each year. For more information visit www.VisitCanton.com.

About Pro Football Hall of Fame: Located in Canton, Ohio, the birthplace of the National Football League, the Pro Football Hall of Fame is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit institution with the Mission to Honor the Heroes of the Game, Preserve its History, Promote its Values, & Celebrate Excellence EVERYWHERE. Hundreds of thousands of fans from across the globe travel to Canton annually to experience “The Most Inspiring Place on Earth!” that chronicles America’s most popular sport.

Construction on Johnson Controls Hall of Fame Village, a $600 million development project that includes nine main components, is under way in Canton to transform the Hall of Fame’s campus.

For more information about the Pro Football Hall of Fame, please visit www.ProFootballHOF.com; @ProFootballHOF on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, and YouTube.


Subscribe to SDM