USA Diving Announces World Cup Roster | Sports Destination Management

USA Diving Announces World Cup Roster

Jan 12, 2016
USA Diving to Select Olympic Team in Indianapolis in June

Following the conclusion of the 2015 USA Diving Winter National Championships, USA Diving has announced its roster for the FINA Diving World Cup. Two individuals and one synchronized team per event were selected to the team.

Amy Cozad, Kristian Ipsen and Steele Johnson each won two national titles at the Winter Nationals to be selected to World Cup team in two events. Abby Johnston and Jessica Parratto also were selected to compete two events after both finished Winter Nationals with a national title and a silver medal.

The World Cup, to be held February 19-24 in Rio de Janeiro, will serve as the final opportunity for countries to qualify for the 2016 Olympic Games. The U.S. has secured two of a possible 12 Olympic quota spots so far, having already qualified one men’s 10-meter and one women’s 10-meter spot. Each country may earn a maximum of two quota spots in each individual event and one in each synchronized event. All spots are for the country, not the athlete. USA Diving will select its Olympic team at the U.S. Olympic Team Trials for diving in Indianapolis from June 18-26, 2016.

USA Diving roster for FINA Diving World Cup

Men’s 3-meter
Kristian Ipsen (Clayton, Calif./Stanford, Calif.)
Michael Hixon (Amherst, Mass./Bloomington, Ind.)

Women’s 3-meter
Kassidy Cook (The Woodlands, Texas)
Abby Johnston (Upper Arlington, Ohio/Durham, N.C.)

Men’s 10-meter
Steele Johnson (Carmel, Ind./West Lafayette, Ind.)
David Dinsmore (New Albany, Ohio/Coral Gables, Fla.)

Women’s 10-meter
Amy Cozad (Indianapolis, Ind./Bloomington, Ind.)
Jessica Parratto (Dover, N.H./Bloomington, Ind.)

Men’s synchronized 3-meter
Kristian Ipsen (Clayton, Calif./Stanford, Calif.)/Sam Dorman (Tempe, Ariz./Coral Gables, Fla.)

Women’s synchronized 3-meter
Abby Johnston (Upper Arlington, Ohio/Durham, N.C.)/Laura Ryan (Elk River, Minn./Athens, Ga.)

Men’s synchronized 10-meter
David Boudia (Noblesville, Ind./West Lafayette, Ind.)/Steele Johnson (Carmel, Ind./West Lafayette, Ind.)

Women’s synchronized 10-meter
Amy Cozad (Indianapolis, Ind./Bloomington, Ind.)/Jessica Parratto (Dover, N.H./Bloomington, Ind.)

Coaches: Randy Ableman, Oleg Andriyuk, Drew Johansen, Vince Panzano

(Click to Expand)