Collegiate Track Nationals Get Rolling in Indianapolis

25 Sep, 2014

Seventeen national titles are up for grabs this week at the 2014 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships, Sept. 25-28, at the Major Taylor Velodrome in Indianapolis.

The event is the first national championship of the 2014/2015 collegiate cycling season and the penultimate event on USA Cycling's 2014 national championship calendar. More than 150 student-cyclists from 30 schools will battle it out over the four days at the Indy Cycloplex which is the home turf of reigning Division I team omnium champion Marian University.

If the Marian Knights should win the overall prize again in Division I, it will be nine collegiate track omnium titles in a row for the school. Other schools bound to make a strong showing in DI however include Fort Lewis College, Lindenwood University, the University of Colorado at Boulder, and Midwestern State University.

In Division II, Colorado Mesa University will look to take the team prize for a second year but will be up against some tough competition from the likes of the U.S. Air Force Academy, the U.S. Military Academy, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Penn State.

As the student-athletes race in pursuit of individual and team omniums, they'll also be competing for Stars-and-Stripes jerseys in the individual pursuit, points race, sprint, time trial, scratch race, team pursuit, and mixed team sprint. Check out a complete schedule of racing here.

Plenty of talent will be on hand, including Marian's Colton Barrett and Coryn Rivera, Zack Noonan (Fort Lewis College), and the University of Colorado's Colt Peterson and Nicolle Bruderer, among many others. Check out the complete list of registered riders here.

Full results and race recaps will be posted to following each day of racing. Additionally, fans can follow the event on twitter using #collnats. Updates will also be available from @indycycloplex and @USACcollegiate.

For more information on the 2014 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships, please visit the official event webpage


Subscribe to SDM