Pikes Peak Hill Climb Drawing International Competition | Sports Destination Management

Pikes Peak Hill Climb Drawing International Competition

May 02, 2016

The 100th anniversary of The Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb presented by Gran Turismo will feature 26 drivers and riders from 13 nations and territories as the Race to the Clouds continues to expand its international prestige.

"The number of high profile entries from around the world is another example of how the race has grown and enhanced its profile internationally," said PPIHC Chairman Tom Osborne. "We are tremendously pleased with the growing number of talented drivers and riders who continue to come to Colorado Springs from around the world to challenge Pikes Peak - America's Mountain."

This year's race on Sunday, June 26, includes competitors from Japan, Canada, Isle of Man, Great Britain, France, Australia, Taiwan, Corsica, Poland, Brazil, Scotland, Austria, and Switzerland, as well as the field from the USA.

Top International Drivers and Riders: The 100 competitors for this summer's historic 100th anniversary and 94th running of the nation's second-oldest motor sports race headlines its international roster with the return of racing star and 2014 PPIHC King of the Mountain Romain Dumas, a French driver who now makes his home in Basel, Switzerland.

With two class victories and one overall championship at both Pikes Peak (2012 and 2014) and the 24 Hours of Le Mans (2010 and 2013), Dumas will make his return to America's Mountain just days after contesting one of Porsche's two LMP1 entries at Le Mans.

Japan's Nobuhiro "Monster" Tajima (Electric Modified Class) is a legend at Pikes Peak and has been the face of the race for over a decade.  Tajima was the first competitor in race history to break the 10-minute mark when he clocked 9:51.278 to win the title in the Unlimited Division and became the first to do so in an electric powered vehicle while setting a new Electric Division record in 2013 with a time of 9:46.530. Monster has claimed seven title of King of the Mountain in addition to recording 11 of the 100 fastest times in PPIHC history.

Fumio Nutahara,also of Japan, will return in the Time Attack 2 Production Class after winning the Electric Division in his PPIHC debut with a then record time of 10:15.380 in 2012.  Nutahara and is a nine-time winner of the Japanese Rally Championship and in 2006 became the first non-European driver to win the Monte Carlo Rally.

Another notable Japanese entry is of back-to-back Pikes Peak Challenge; Sidecar Class winner Masahito Watanabe and  Sidecar Class.

David Higgins of Isle of Man will compete in an extremely competitive Time Attack 1 Class.  Higgins has been a dominant force in rally racing winning the last five Rally America National Championships and being crowned British Champion in 1997, 1999, 2002 and 2004. Higgins is the current overall record holder for the Mt. Washington Hill Climb with a time of 6:09.090.

Scotland's Joe Toner will return for the fifth time after taking second place on the Peak last year in the Middleweight Motorcycle Division with a clocking of 10:50.00. His son, Joseph Connor Toner finished second in the 2015 Lightweight Motorcycle Division and will make the move to the Middleweight Division this summer, creating a classic father-son showdown.

Bruno Langlois, from the French Mediterranean Island of Corsica, will be a top contender in the Heavyweight Motorcycle Division.  Langlois is no stranger to victory; as the Champion of France de Côte in 1985, Champion de France Promosport 750 in 1990, and PPIHC 1205cc Division winner in 2013 in addition to earning PPIHC 2-Wheeled Rookie of the Year honors in 2012.

Go to www.ppihc.com for complete race information, list of drivers and riders, and to purchase tickets now.  Check out the PPIHC Sizzle Reel.

(Click to Expand)