British Columbia

Gold Cup Expands Into Canada

6 Jan, 2015

The 2015 Gold Cup will be played in many of the usual cities -- 11 of the 12 U.S. venues have hosted games previously -- but the Concacaf tournament will expand into Canada for the first time with matches at Toronto's BMO Field. The defending champion USA will play its group games at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas, Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, Mass., and Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kan.

Eleven of the 13 venues have hosted previous editions of the Gold Cup:

Atlanta (Knockout Phase), Georgia Dome (2013);
Baltimore (Knockout Phase), M&T Bank Stadium (2013);
Carson, CA (Group B), StubHub Center (2005, 2007, 2009, 2011)
Charlotte (Group C), Bank of America Stadium (2011)
Chicago (Group C), Soldier Field (2007, 2009, 2011, 2013);
East Rutherford, NJ (Knockout Phase), MetLife Stadium (2011);
Frisco, TX (Group A), Toyota Field (first time);
Foxboro, MA (Group A)
, Gillette Stadium (2003, 2005, 2007, 2009);
Glendale, AZ (Group C), University of Phoenix Stadium (2009)
Houston (Group B), BBVA Compass Stadium (2013);
Kansas City (Group A), KS, Sporting Park (2011);
Philadelphia (Knockout Phase), Lincoln Financial Field (2009);
Toronto (Group B), BMO Field (first time).

Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas, will be the site of the kickoff doubleheader involving the USA, and Toronto’s BMO Field will host Gold Cup games for the first time.

The USA will play at Toyota Stadium on July 7, before moving on with the rest of Group A to Gillette Stadium (July 10) and Sporting Park (July 13).

Costa Rica, the seeded team in Group B, will begin play at StubHub Center (July 8), then move on to Houston’s BBVA Compass Stadium (July 11) and Toronto’s BMO Field (July 14).

Mexico, the Group C seed, will play at Chicago's Soldier Field (July 9), the University of Phoenix Stadium (July 12) and Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium (July 15).

Canada has not been designated to play in Group B, but it would hard to imagine Concacaf not placing it along with Costa Rica in that group so it would play in Toronto.

The four remaining venues -- The Georgia Dome, Philadelphia's Lincoln Financial Field, Baltimore's M&T Bank Stadium and MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J. -- will host the two quarterfinal doubleheaders, semifinal doubleheader and championship game.

2015 Gold Cup Finalists:
Canada (Automatic Qualifier)
Mexico (Automatic Qualifier)
United States (Automatic Qualifier)
Costa Rica (Winner, 2014 Copa Centroamericana UNCAF)
Guatemala (Runner-up, 2014 Copa Centroamericana UNCAF)
Panama (Third Place, 2014 Copa Centroamericana UNCAF)
El Salvador (Fourth Place, 2014 Copa Centroamericana UNCAF)
Jamaica (Winner, 2014 CFU Caribbean Cup)
Trinidad & Tobago (Runner-Up, 2014 CFU Caribbean Cup)
Haiti (Third Place, 2014 CFU Caribbean Cup)
Cuba (Fourth Place, 2014 CFU Caribbean Cup)
French Guyana or Honduras (CFU/UNCAF Play-in Winner) 


Subscribe to SDM