Water Sports

34th Water Ski Worlds Running This Week

20 Nov, 2015

The six-member U.S. Elite Water Ski Team and several U.S. independent water ski athletes will compete in the 34th Water Ski World Championships, now through Sunday, at Boca Laguna in Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico. For running orders and results throughout the tournament, click here. Members of the U.S. Elite Water Ski Team are: Scot Ellis (Auburndale, Fla.), Regina Jaquess (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.), Erika Lang (Gilbert, Ariz.), Alex Lauretano (Windermere, Fla.), Adam Pickos (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.) and Nate Smith (McCordsville, Ind.).

Jeff Surdej (Wilmington, Ill.) will be the coach, Jody Johnson (Nashville, Tenn.) will serve as team captain, and Dr. Brad Harman (Alvarado, Texas) will be the team physician. ?

U.S. athletes competing as independents are: Cale Burdick (Brighton, Mich.), Brian Detrick (Elk Grove, Calif.), Anna Gay (Winter Garden, Fla.), Russell Gay (Winter Garden, Fla.), Makayla Haw (Rio Linda, Calif.), Brian Kinney (Yuba City, Calif.), Freddy Krueger (Winter Garden, Fla.), Lauren Morgan (Odessa, Fla.), Chris Parrish (Orlando, Fla.), Nick Parsons (Bountiful, Utah), Jon Travers (Groveland, Fla.), Karen Truelove (Winter Garden, Fla.), Corey Vaughn (Bumpass, Va.), Terry Winter (Star, Idaho) and Zack Worden (Orlando, Fla.).

In addition to the coveted world team title, athletes from more than 25 countries will compete for individual medals in slalom, tricks, jumping and overall at the Worlds. The United States is the defending world team champion. Defending individual title-holders are: Jacinta Carroll (Australia), women's jumping; Regina Jaquess (USA), women's slalom and overall; Freddy Krueger (USA), men's jumping; Erika Lang (USA), women's tricks; Felipe Miranda (Chile), men’s overall; Nate Smith (USA), men's slalom; and Aliaksei Zharnasek (Belarus), men's tricks.

Krueger, the four-time defending men’s jumping champion, had to withdraw from the Worlds due to injury.


Subscribe to SDM