Abilene Convention & Visitors Bureau Sports Alliance Announces Scholarship Recipients

2 Jun, 2011

ABILENE, TX – The Abilene Convention and Visitors Bureau Sports Alliance is pleased to announce this year’s scholarship recipients aimed at honoring local high school athletes. This scholarship is awarded to student athletes displaying high character, integrity, sound judgment and is recognized as an outstanding student athlete role model.

The Sports Alliance presented $8,000 in scholarships to 4 male and 4 female graduating student athletes from Abilene Christian, Abilene, Cooper, and Wylie high schools.

The scholarship recipients are Mallory Wilkins and Brantly Houston from Abilene Christian High, Drew McMillan and Alex Warr from Abilene High, Marissa Churchman and Derek Footer from Cooper High and Bailey Wilson and Colin Harris from Wylie High School.

The Sports Alliance was formed in 2003 as a committee of the Abilene Convention and Visitors Bureau and functions to support, promote and encourage sporting events in Abilene.

The scholarships are supported by the success of the Sports Alliance’s Action Sports Medicine Champions Classic held annually. The enthusiasm this event has generated, not only locally, but at the state level has brought favorable attention to Shotwell Stadium allowing Abilene to showcase the continued updates that make Shotwell one of the most desirable stadiums in Texas.


Subscribe to SDM