ITA Championship Returns to Madison, WI | Sports Destination Management

ITA Championship Returns to Madison, WI

Feb 04, 2016

After a four-year stint in Charlottesville, Virginia, the ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship returns to Madison, Wisconsin, and the Nielsen Tennis Stadium, as the University of Wisconsin serves as event host to the 2016 event, which runs Feb. 5-8.

The ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship is in its 29th years of existence, and Wisconsin has hosted the national championship 25 times. Sixteen of the top Division I women's teams will compete in a single-elimination tournament over a four-day span to crown a national indoor champion. Each team is guaranteed three matches at the event.

For updated draws, complete results, live scoring, daily recaps and photo galleries, head to the #ITAIndoors Championship Central page here. You can also follow along with live scoring from the Wisconsin event page here. On social media, be sure to follow @ITATennis on Twitter and use the hashtag #ITAIndoors when tweeting about the event. You can also check out @ITA_Tennis on Instagram and on Facebook.

Wisconsin received an automatic bid into the national indoor championship for hosting the event, while the 15 other teams had to earn qualification by winning their respective four-team regional at the 2016 ITA Kick-Off Weekend, held Jan. 22-24, 2016.

Defending champion North Carolina will be looking for its third #ITAIndoors title in the last four years. The ACC have claimed the past three #ITAIndoors crowns, with the Tar Heels winning in 2015 and 2013, and Duke in 2014.

The Top 8 seeds in the #ITAIndoors field were determined based off of an unpublished ranking conducted by the National Ranking Committee earlier in the week. Defending NCAA National Champion, Vanderbilt, is the No. 1 seed. Georgia is the No. 2 seed, North Carolina No. 3, Cal No. 4 and Texas A&M No. 5. Oklahoma State is the No. 6 seed, Miami (FL) is No. 7 and Ohio State is No. 8. The remaining eight teams were placed into draw by random selection. Teams were moved to avoid playing opponents in the first round already on their respective regular-season schedules.

#ITAIndoors First Round Matches
No. 1 Vanderbilt vs. Duke, 3:30 p.m. CT
No. 8 Ohio State vs. Fresno State, 3:30 p.m. CT
No. 4 Cal vs. Wisconsin, 6:30 p.m. CT
No. 5 Texas A&M vs. Virginia, 6:30 p.m. CT
No. 6 Oklahoma State vs. LSU, 9 a.m. CT
No. 3 North Carolina vs. Alabama, 9 a.m. CT
No. 7 Miami (FL) vs. Michigan, 12 p.m. CT
No. 2 Georgia vs. Texas Tech, 12 p.m. CT 

#ITAIndoors Women's Qualifiers By Conference
SEC (5) = Vanderbilt; Georgia; Texas A&M; Alabama; LSU
ACC (4) = North Carolina; Virginia; Miami (FL); Duke
Big Ten (3) = Wisconsin (host); Michigan; Ohio State
Big 12 (2) = Oklahoma State; Texas Tech
Pac-12 (1) = California
Mountain West (1) = Fresno State

(Click to Expand)