Philadelphia to Host Final of CONCACAF Championship

19 Mar, 2015

The USA will face Panama, the only team to ever beat it in the group stage of the Gold Cup, Haiti and the winner of the Honduras-French Guiana play-in series in group play at the 2015 Gold Cup. For the first time Philadelphia will host the final of the Concacaf championship.

2015 Gold Cup:
GROUP A: USA, Panama, Haiti, Honduras or French Guiana
GROUP B: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Canada, Jamaica
GROUP C: Mexico, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago, Cuba

The championship game will be played July 26 at Lincoln Financial Field. For the first time since the 2003 edition, the Gold Cup will feature a third-place game, to be played July 25 at PPL Park in nearby Chester, Pa.

"We are anticipating an exceptional Gold Cup in 2015, with a grand finale weekend to be played right here in Philadelphia, a city with a special affinity for the world’s game," said Concacaf president Jeffrey Webb. "The sport has never been more popular throughout the Confederation, and this year’s Gold Cup -- the crown jewel of regional soccer -- will certainly demonstrate like never before our region’s passion for the game."

Gold Cup Finals
1991: Los Angeles (Memorial Coliseum)
1993: Mexico City (Azteca Stadium)
1996: Los Angeles (Memorial Coliseum)
1998: Los Angeles (Memorial Coliseum)
2000: Los Angeles (Memorial Coliseum)
2002: Pasadena, California (Rose Bowl)
2003: Mexico City (Azteca Stadium)
2005: East Rutherford, NJ (Giants Stadium)
2007: Chicago (Soldier Field)
2009: East Rutherford, NJ (Giants Stadium)
2011: Pasadena, California (Rose Bowl)
2013: Chicago (Soldier Field)
2015: Philadelphia (Lincoln Financial Field)

This year's tournament will be played in 12 American cities -- Atlanta, Baltimore, Boston, Charlotte, Chicago, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, New York, Philadelphia and Phoenix -- plus Toronto, making it the first tournament since 2003 to be played in multiple countries.

The quarterfinals will be played in Baltimore's M&T Bank Stadium and New Jersey’s MetLife Stadium on July 18 and July 19, respectively. The four quarterfinalist winners will then move to Atlanta for the semifinals, at the Georgia Dome on July 22.

The final spot will be decided in late March through a play-in series between Honduras, the fifth-place finisher of the 2014 UNCAF Copa Centroamericana, and French Guiana, fifth at the 2014 CFU Caribbean Cup. As a French department, French Guiana is not a FIFA member and only competes in Concacaf events. It will be home team for the first leg on March 25, while Honduras will host the return leg on March 29.

The Gold Cup will again be broadcast by Fox Sports and Univision, along with radio coverage on Futbol de Primera.

2015 Gold Cup Schedule:
July 7
Toyota Stadium (Dallas, TX)

5:00 p.m. ET Panama vs. Haiti (FOX Sports 2/UDN)
7:30 p.m. ET USA vs. Honduras/French Guiana (FOX Sports 1/UniMas)

July 8
StubHub Center (Los Angeles, CA)

8:00 p.m. ET Costa Rica vs. Jamaica (FOX Sports 2/UniMas)
10:30 p.m. ET El Salvador vs. Canada (FOX Sports 2/UniMas)

July 9
Soldier Field (Chicago, IL)

7:00 p.m. ET Trinidad and Tobago vs. Guatemala (FOX Sports 2/UDN)
9:30 p.m. ET Mexico vs. Cuba (FOX Sports 1/UniMas)

July 10
Gillette Stadium (Boston, MA)

6:00 p.m. ET Honduras/French Guiana vs. Panama (FOX Sports 2/UniMas)
8:30 p.m. ET USA vs. Haiti (FOX Sports 1/UniMas)

July 11
BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX)

6:30 p.m. ET Jamaica vs. Canada (FOX Sports 2/Univision)
9:00 p.m. ET Costa Rica vs. El Salvador (FOX Sports 2/Univision)

July 12
University of Phoenix Stadium (Phoenix, AZ)

6:30 p.m. ET Trinidad and Tobago vs. Cuba (FOX Sports 2/Univision)
9:00 p.m. ET Guatemala vs. Mexico (FOX Sports 2/Univision)

July 13
Sporting Park (Kansas City, MO)

7:00 p.m. ET Haiti vs. Honduras/French Guiana (FOX Sports 1/UDN)
9:30 p.m. ET Panama vs. United States (FOX Sports 1/UniMas)

July 14
BMO Field (Toronto, CAN)

6:00 p.m. ET Jamaica vs. El Salvador (FOX Sports 1/UniMas)
8:30 p.m. ET Canada vs. Costa Rica (FOX Sports 1/UniMas)

July 15
Bank of America Stadium (Charlotte, NC)

6:00 p.m. ET Cuba vs. Guatemala (FOX Sports 2/UniMas)
8:30 p.m. ET Mexico vs. Trinidad and Tobago (FOX Sports 2/UniMas)

July 18
M&T Bank Stadium (Baltimore, MD)

5:00 p.m. ET & 8:00 PM
1A vs. 3B/C* (FOX/Univision)
2A vs. 1B*(FOX Sports 2/Univision)

July 19
Met Life Stadium (New York, NY)

4:30 p.m. ET & 7:30 PM
1C-3A/B*(FOX Sports 1/Univision)
2C-2B*(FOX Sports 1/Univision)

July 22
Georgia Dome (Atlanta, GA)

6:00 p.m. ET SF 1* (FOX Sports 1/UniMas)
9:00 p.m. ET SF 2* (FOX Sports 2/UniMas)

July 25
PPL Park (Philadelphia, PA)

4:00 p.m. ET 3rd Place (FOX Sports 2/Univision)

July 26
Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia, PA)

7:30 p.m. ET Championship Final (FOX Sports 1/Univision)

*Order of games to be determined.


Subscribe to SDM