W-League Championship Participants, Schedule Set | Sports Destination Management

W-League Championship Participants, Schedule Set

Jul 23, 2014
Bradenton, FL, to Host as Charlotte, LA, Ottawa, Washington Fight for Title

The participants for the 2014 W-League Championship presented by Nike have been determined, with the Charlotte Lady Eagles, LA Blues, Ottawa Fury FC and Washington Spirit Reserves set for Friday’s semifinals at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida. The semifinal winners will advance to the 2014 W-League Championship final at 2:30 p.m. ET Sunday.

Both of Friday’s semifinal matchups and Sunday’s championship and consolation match will be available live on the W-League YouTube channel.

The LA Blues (12-0-0) are the top seed after earning their fifth trip to the final four in their seven-year history thanks to a 2-1 victory against the Colorado Pride in Saturday’s Western Conference Championship. Goals from Sasha Andrews and Elizabeth Eddy helped LA overcome an early deficit and earn a shot to defend their 2013 title. They will face the Charlotte Lady Eagles (5-1-4), who took the Southeastern Conference title by defeating the top-seeded Gulf Coast Texans in penalty kicks after a 2-2 draw.

The Central Conference Champion Ottawa Fury (11-0-1) enter the championship weekend as the No. 2 seed and will face the No. 3-seed Washington Spirit Reserves (10-0-2), who earned their trip to the W-League Championship by defeating the Braddock Road Stars Elite in Friday’s Northeastern Conference Championship. Ottawa, the 2012 W-League champions, captured the Central Conference crown Saturday by knocking off K-W United FC 4-0.

2014 W-League Championship presented by Nike At IMG Academy, Bradenton, Florida

Semifinals: Friday, July 25

No. 3 Washington Spirit Reserves vs. No. 2 Ottawa Fury FC, 5 p.m. ET, IMG Academy Stadium

No. 4 Charlotte Lady Eagles vs. No. 1 LA Blues, 7:30 p.m. ET, IMG Academy Stadium

Consolation: Sunday, July 27, 12 p.m. ET, IMG Academy Stadium

Championship: Sunday, July 27, 2:30 p.m. ET, IMG Academy Stadium

W-LEAGUE: The W-League is the first and longest-standing women’s soccer league in North America. The 2014 W-League campaign features 25 teams in four regional conferences playing 10-12 regular season matches. Featuring current and former international and professional stars, the W-League also provides elite amateurs the opportunity to compete while maintaining their eligibility as college student-athletes. The league is recognized throughout the world for providing superior competition for female players, while offering affordable family entertainment for fans throughout North America.

(Click to Expand)