WTT San Diego Aviators Announces Details of July 22 Event

12 Jul, 2019

Matches will be Streamed this Year as Well

The San Diego Aviators of World TeamTennis have signed former Australian Open and US Open semifinalist CoCo Vandeweghe to play on Monday, July 22 at the Omni La Costa Resort & Spa against the visiting Philadelphia Freedoms. The match is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. (PDT).
Vandeweghe, a resident of Rancho Santa Fe, Calif., reached a career-high No. 10 in the Women’s Tennis Association singles rankings in November, 2017. Earlier that year, the 27-year-old Vandeweghe advanced to the semifinals at the Australian Open and US Open.

“Playing World TeamTennis for the Aviators at La Costa is a really fun experience,” said Vandeweghe, who will be making an appearance with the Aviators for the third straight WTT season. “I love being on a team and having your teammates cheering you on during a match makes it even more exciting.”

Vandeweghe has been recovering from an ankle injury which has sidelined her since last October when she teamed in doubles with current World No. 1 Ashleigh Barty of Australia to reach the semifinals of the WTA Finals in Singapore. Earlier in 2018, Vandeweghe and Barty won doubles titles at the US Open and Miami Open.
“We are thrilled to have San Diego’s hometown tennis hero returning to play for the Aviators on Monday, July 22,” said Cari Buck, Aviators general manager. “It’s not very often a local professional tennis player like CoCo Vandeweghe can play a pro match in front of a home crowd.”
The Aviators announced last month that Rancho Santa Fe native Taylor Fritz will play for San Diego in the home opener on Friday, July 19 against the Las Vegas Rollers and a road match in Newport Beach, Calif., on Saturday, July 20 versus the Orange County Breakers.

Rising American star Amanda Anisimova, a semifinalist at this year’s French Open, will also be playing home matches for the Aviators on Thursday, July 25 against the New York Empire and on Friday, July 26 versus the Orange County Breakers.
In addition to Vandeweghe, Fritz and Anisimova, the Aviators roster for the 2019 WTT season includes doubles specialist Jonny O'Mara of Great Britain, American Christian Harrison, Astra Sharma of Australia, and Germany’s Anna-Lena Groenefeld, who played for the Aviators in 2018.
The Aviators will play the following home matches at the Omni La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad, Calif.

Friday, July 19              San Diego Aviators vs. Las Vegas Rollers                  7 p.m.
Sunday, July 21            San Diego Aviators vs. Springfield Lasers                 5 p.m.
Monday, July 22           San Diego Aviators vs. Philadelphia Freedoms         7 p.m.
Thursday, July 25         San Diego Aviators vs. New York Empire                   7 p.m.
Friday, July 26              San Diego Aviators vs. Orange County Breakers      7 p.m.
Tuesday, July 30           San Diego Aviators vs. Washington Kastles              7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, July 31     San Diego Aviators vs. Orlando Storm                       7 p.m.  
(All Times PDT)

For the complete home and away schedule, click here. For ticket information for all San Diego Aviators home matches at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, click here.

The 2019 WTT regular season, which features eight teams, will be played July 14-31. The top four teams will advance to the WTT playoffs at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, with the semifinals scheduled for Friday, August 2, followed by the WTT Finals on Saturday, August 3.

World TeamTennis has signed a new multi-year television agreement with CBS Sports and a new streaming agreement with ESPN+. The 2019 WTT season will feature 17 matches on television across CBS and CBS Sports Network from July 14 through August 3, highlighted by WTT’s broadcast debut on the network on July 21 when the Philadelphia Freedoms take on the Vegas Rollers live on CBS at 4 p.m. EDT/1 p.m. PDT.

An additional 16 matches will air throughout the season exclusively on CBS Sports Network, beginning on WTT’s opening night, on Sunday July 14, when the Aviators take on the New York Empire in New York.
Online streaming service ESPN+ will exclusively live stream 18 matches during the 2019 WTT season, with an additional 24 matches streaming on both ESPN+ and
“We are delighted to have so many broadcast opportunities for fans to tune in and watch the Aviators in action this season,” said Aviators General Manager Cari Buck. “It’s going to be an exciting season and with these high-quality live broadcasts, fans can follow the Aviators and their favorite players when the team is at home and on the road.”

Here is the complete San Diego Aviators Broadcast Schedule:
Sunday, July 14 — SD Aviators @ New York Empire, 2 p.m. (PDT) CBS Sports Network
Monday, July 15 — SD Aviators @ Philadelphia Freedoms, 4 p.m. (PDT) ESPN+, WTT.TV

Tuesday, July 16 — SD Aviators @ Washington Kastles, 4 p.m. (PDT) ESPN+, WTT.TV

Wednesday, July 17 — SD Aviators @ Orlando Storm, 4 p.m. (PDT) ESPN+

Friday, July 19 — Las Vegas Rollers @ SD Aviators, 7 p.m. (PDT) CBS Sports Network
Saturday, July 20 — SD Aviators @ OC Breakers, 4 p.m. (PDT) CBS Sports Network
Sunday, July 21 — Springfield Lasers @ SD Aviators, 5 p.m. (PDT) ESPN+

Monday, July 22 — Philadelphia Freedoms @ SD Aviators, 7 p.m. (PDT) ESPN+

Wednesday, July 24 — SD Aviators @ Springfield Lasers, 5 p.m. (PDT) ESPN+, WTT.TV

Thursday, July 25 — New York Empire @ SD Aviators, 7 p.m. (PDT) ESPN+, WTT.TV

Friday, July 26 — OC Breakers @ SD Aviators, 7 p.m. (PDT) ESPN+

Sunday, July 28 — SD Aviators @ Vegas Rollers, 7 p.m. (PDT) ESPN+

Tuesday, July 30 — Washington Kastles @ SD Aviators, 7:30 p.m. (PDT) CBS Sports Network

Wednesday, July 31 — Orlando Storm @ SD Aviators, 7 p.m. (PDT) ESPN+

About the San Diego Aviators Owned by local residents Fred Luddy and Jack McGrory, the Aviators return for their sixth World TeamTennis season. For the fifth consecutive year, the Aviators will make their home on center court at the Omni La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad, Calif.   Last year the Aviators had local greats Taylor Fritz and Coco Vandeweghe play for them and finished the season in 4th place.   Coached by British former professional tennis player, John Lloyd, the team won the WTT championship in 2016 defeating the Orange County Breakers in the WTT Finals.  Lloyd will be returning as coach again this season in hopes of bringing the King Trophy back to San Diego.  The Aviators will start the 2019 season on the road playing the NY Empire on July 14. For additional information, visit

About World TeamTennis (WTT) - World TeamTennis showcases the best in professional tennis with eight teams in major markets competing in the innovative team format for the King Trophy, the League’s championship trophy named after tennis icon and founder Billie Jean King. Since the League's debut, virtually every major champion of the Open era has played WTT, including Andre Agassi, Venus and Serena Williams, Pete Sampras, Stefanie Graf, Andy Roddick, Kim Clijsters, Bob and Mike Bryan, Sloane Stephens, Martina Hingis, Maria Sharapova, Lindsay Davenport, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Martina Navratilova, Chris Evert and Naomi Osaka. Owned by innovator Fred Luddy and entrepreneur Eric Davidson, WTT's 44th season plays from July 14 to July 31, with the league semifinals set for Aug. 2 and the finals Aug. 3. CBS Sports is the official television broadcast partner of WTT. Learn more about the history and league champions of World TeamTennis on the history page.


Subscribe to SDM