Mylan WTT Leader San Diego Aviators Announce Events for 2017 Season | Sports Destination Management

Mylan WTT Leader San Diego Aviators Announce Events for 2017 Season

Jul 14, 2017

The defending Mylan World TeamTennis champion San Diego Aviators have announced theme nights and promotions for all seven of their home matches at the Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, Calif., 92009.

The home opener on Sunday, July 16 has been designated as “Rivalry Night,” as the Aviators begin their 2017 campaign against former World No. 1 Maria Sharapova and their Southern California rival the Orange County Breakers from Newport Beach, Calif., at 6 p.m.

Tuesday, July 18 will be “Championship Celebration Night” as the Aviators host the Springfield Lasers at 7 p.m. and celebrate the 2016 WTT Championship they captured last August in Forest Hills, N.Y.  Fans will have the opportunity to have their picture taken with the coveted King Trophy, which was designed by Tiffany.

It will be “Family Night” on Saturday, July 22 when the Aviators play the Springfield Lasers at 7 p.m.  Children attending the match can join in the fun at the interactive Kids’ Zone. Kids will also have the opportunity to collect player autographs during an autograph session.

On Sunday, July 23, the Aviators will take on the visiting New York Empire at 6 p.m. as they recognize the dedicated service of our teachers, police, firefighters and members of the military on “Salute to Public Service Night.”  A ticket discount for those in public service is available when purchasing tickets at  Enter code: Salute10 to receive a 10 percent discount.

The Aviators host the Orange County Breakers on Tuesday, July 25 at 7 p.m. on “Latin Night.” Fans can enjoy the vibrant sounds of Latin music and Happy Hour drink specials.

On Tuesday, August 1, the Aviators will face the visiting Philadelphia Freedoms on “Salute to Ladies Night,” which will celebrate Women in Sports. A special tribute video that includes highlights of the 1973 Battle of the Sexes match between Billie Jean King and Bobby Riggs will be shown.  

The Aviators will close out the regular season with “Fan Appreciation Night” on Wednesday, August 2 against the Washington Kastles at 7 p.m.  The Aviators will thank their fans with free giveaways.  

Gates will open one hour before the start of each match. A free Aviators promotional item will be distributed to the first 300 fans entering the gates at each home match during the season.  

“We really want our spectators to have a great fan experience when they come to the Omni La Costa Resort & Spa to watch our matches this season,” said San Diego Aviators General Manager Jim Ault. “We encourage fans to arrive early to receive promotional items and enjoy great food, along with all of the pre-match festivities.”  

For the complete schedule, please go to: Tickets start at $25 per match. VIP and season tickets are also available. For ticket information, contact (888) 774-0110 or Fans can also save $2 on parking by purchasing a parking pass online.

The top two teams from the 2017 regular season will advance to the Mylan WTT Finals, which is scheduled for 8 p.m. (PT) on Saturday, August 5, at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad, Calif. The Mylan WTT Finals will air live on ESPN3 with ESPN2 also joining the coverage.

About the San Diego Aviators: The San Diego Aviators, which are owned by local residents Fred Luddy and Jack McGrory, return for their fourth Mylan World TeamTennis season. For the third consecutive year, they will make their home venue at the Omni La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad, Calif.  After posting an 8-6 record to finish the 2016 season in first place, the Aviators captured their first Mylan World TeamTennis championship, defeating the Orange County Breakers 25-14 in the Mylan WTT Finals at the historic Forest Hills Stadium at The West Side Tennis Club in Forest Hills, N.Y.

For additional information on the San Diego Aviators, visit

About Mylan World TeamTennis: Mylan World TeamTennis showcases the best in professional tennis with the innovative team format co-founded by Billie Jean King in the 1970s. Recognized as the leader in professional team tennis competition, Mylan WTT features many of the world's best players competing annually for the King Trophy, the League's championship trophy named after King.

Since the League's debut, virtually every major champion of the Open era has played Mylan WTT, including Andre Agassi, Venus and Serena Williams, Pete Sampras, Stefanie Graf, Andy Roddick, Kim Clijsters, Bob and Mike Bryan, Martina Hingis, Maria Sharapova, Lindsay Davenport, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Martina Navratilova, and Chris Evert.

In July 2015, Mylan WTT became the fifth major professional team sports league in the U.S. to reach the 40th season milestone. In 2017, team owners Mark Ein and Fred Luddy acquired majority ownership of the organization.  Learn more about the history and league champions of World TeamTennis at

(Click to Expand)