College Sports Facilities

Host Site Finalists Named for Final Round of 81 Championships

1 Nov, 2013

NCAA has announced the host site finalists for the final round of 81 of its 89 championships for the 2014-18 championship seasons.

Full details were announced in a press release posted at the NCAA's website.

According to NCAA, “the finalists were selected by the respective sport committees, which are made up of coaches and administrators from NCAA member schools and conferences, from an original pool of 1,948 bids. The committees will select the winning sites, which must then be approved by the appropriate divisional championships cabinets/committees before being announced via webcast at on Dec. 11. The announcement also will include all pre-determined regional host sites.”

A total of 150 cities in 39 states and the District of Columbia were named. Ohio had the most finalist selections with 24 championship sites, while the state of Florida had 22 selections and North Carolina had 21.

There are 213 hosting opportunities for the finals site of the 81 championships. Cities were able to bid for one or more years of the same championship.


Subscribe to SDM