Dave Schultz Memorial Wrestling Tournament to Draw International Competition

31 Jan, 2017

Top international wrestlers from a number of nations will travel to the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo. to compete in the 19th annual Dave Schultz Memorial International Wrestling Championships, February 1-3.

Top American wrestlers and international athletes will be showcasing their skills in three Olympic disciplines, men's and women's freestyle, along with Greco-Roman wrestling. The event is held in memory of the late Dave Schultz, an Olympic and World champion for the United States who was an international ambassador of goodwill through the sport.

This year's competition will have eight weight classes in each style. The event starts Wednesday with Greco-Roman, followed by men's freestyle on Thursday, and women's freestyle on Saturday. This year, the tournament starts a day earlier in the week than in the past years, when Thursday was the first day.

Athletes from the following nations are expected to compete: Argentina, Bulgaria, Canada, Honduras, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Romania, Russia, South Africa, Switzerland, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

Past Olympians who are expected include men's freestyle wrestlers Borislav Novachkov and Georgi Ivanov of Bulgaria, along with Greco-Roman wrestler Murat Ramonov from Kyrgyzstan.

U.S. athletes from the major Senior-level club programs traditionally sign up in large numbers for this event. Numerous wrestlers who train full-time at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo. are expected to enter. More information on the U.S. participants will be released next week.

Online registration is available at TrackWrestling. Deadline for online registration is 5:00 p.m. (MST), Monday, January 30, 2017. Click here to register online.

Entry fee for participants registering online is $60 per athlete (Includes USOTC facility use fee). Entry fee for participants registering on-site is $80 per athlete (includes USOTC facility use fee).

Per UWW regulations, all competitors are required to have UWW license. UWW Licenses will CANNOT be sold on-site. Wrestlers must purchase a yearly license through USA Wrestling for $120. Licenses purchased after November 1, 2016 will be valid through December 31, 2017.

The Dave Schultz Memorial International is included in the series of events which serve as qualifiers for the 2017 U.S. World Team Trials. Greco-Roman and women's freestyle U.S. World Team Trials will take place April 27 -28 in Las Vegas, Nev., while the men's freestyle U.S. World Team Trials will take place June 6-7 in Lincoln, Neb. There will be as many as 24 World Trials berths up for grabs in this competition.

The event will be streamed live each day by Flowrestling.

The event sponsors are the Colorado Springs Convention and Visitors Bureau, the Colorado Springs Sports Corporation and Olympic City USA.

Media seeking credentials should contact Gary Abbott of USA Wrestling at or via cell phone at 719-659-9637.
Volunteers needed for various shifts and positions! Please contact Rachel at if you want to get an up close and personal look at Olympic wrestling. 

At Colorado Springs, Colo., February 1-3

Event Schedule

Wednesday, February 1
Greco-Roman Weights (59 kg, 66 kg, 71 kg, 75 kg, 80 kg, 98 kg, 130 kg)
9:00 a.m. - Session I
4:00 p.m. to conclusion - Session II, including finals

Thursday, February 2
Men's freestyle Weights (57 kg, 61 kg, 65 kg, 70 kg, 74 kg, 86 kg, 97 kg, 125 kg)
9:00 a.m. - Session I
4:00 p.m. to conclusion- Session II, including finals

Friday, February 3
Women's freestyle weights (48 kg, 53 kg, 55 kg, 58 kg, 60 kg, 63 kg, 69 kg, 75 kg)
9:00 a.m. - Session I
2:30 p.m. to conclusion - Session II, including finals

2016 Dave Schultz Memorial International champions

Greco-Roman champions
59 kg/130 lbs.- Jermaine Hodge (USA/U.S. Army WCAP)
66 kg/145.5 lbs.- RaVaughan Perkins (USA/New York AC)
75 kg/165 lbs.- Corey Hope (USA/New York AC)
85 kg/ 187.5 lbs - Amer Hrustanovic (Austria)
98 kg/215 lbs.- Kevin Mejia (Honduras)
130 kg/286 lbs.- Toby Erickson (USA/New York AC)

Men's freestyle champions
57 kg/125.5 lbs.- Alan Waters (USA/Missouri Wrestling Foundation)
65 kg/143 lbs.- Jayson Ness (USA/Minnesota Storm)
74 kg/163 lbs.- Kevin LeValley (USA/Buffalo Valley RTC)
86 kg/189 lbs.- Austin Trotman (USA/Titan Mercury WC)
97 kg/213 lbs.- J.D. Bergman (USA/New York AC)
125 kg/275 lbs.- Matthew Meuleners (USA/Titan Mercury WC)

Women's freestyle champions
48 kg/105.5 lbs.- Victoria Anthony (USA/Titan Mercury WC)
53 kg/116.5 lbs.- Katherine Fulp-Allen (USA/Sunkist Kids)
58 kg/128 lbs.- Kayla Miracle (USA/Sunkist Kids)
63 kg/138.75 lbs- Anastasija Grigorjeva (Latvia)
69 kg/152 lbs.- Brittany Roberts (USA/Sunkist Kids)
75 kg/165 lbs.- Epp Mae (Estonia)


Subscribe to SDM